News

Forthcoming 2018-19 season

We have a busy and exciting season coming up, including weddings, concerts, carol singing, church and cathedral services, and giving the world premiere of some new responsorial psalms. See below for details:

Tuesday 4 September – weekly rehearsals resume

Thursday 5 September – midday wedding, Jordanhill Parish Church

Sunday 4 November – Premiere of Responsorial Psalms, Glasgow University Chapel

Monday 12 November – Festival of Remembrance, 7pm Cathcart Old Church

Wednesday 14 November – WW1 Commemoration concert, 7.30pm Cathcart Old

Sunday 25 November – St Andrew’s Day Multifaith service, 11 am Cathcart Old (optional)

Saturday/Sunday 1-2 December – Carol singing at Ikea, Braehead

Sunday 17 March – Choral Evensong, St Bride’s Church, Hyndland

Friday 5-Monday 8 April – residency at Newcastle cathedral (plus possible performance at children’s hospital)

Friday 31 May – West End Festival concert, St Bride’s church

Open Rehearsal, Tuesday 5 June 6.30pm

If you are a competent sight reader and would like to find out more about us, you are invited to come and sing with us through a couple of pieces specially written for the choir, as well as music by Hubert Parry and Tomas Luis de Victoria. If interested, please email conductor@strathclydechoir.org for details.

West End Festival: Saints and Sinners 1/6/2018

Our next concert will be “Saints and Sinners” on the 1st June 2018 as part of the West End Festival. Featuring Palestrina’s six-part mass and motet ‘Tu es Petrus’, interwoven with ancient and contemporary pieces celebrating saints Columba, Aloysius and Hildegard von Bingen, this should prove to be a feast for the ears.

The concert starts at 8pm and will be at St Bride’s Church, 69 Hyndland Road, Glasgow G12 9UX. Tickets are £9 at the door, or online at Eventbrite.