News

Another World Premiere

Members of the choir were delighted to be asked to sing at the nuptial mass for the wedding of Sir James Macmillan’s son and his bride in Cumnock on Saturday 18 August. This marked a further step in our long-standing association with the composer and his works. In addition to his St Anne’s Mass setting and So Deep (a version of Burns’ ‘My love is like a red, red rose’), we were thrilled to perform two world premieres of new pieces by Sir James, including the  glorious ‘Behold, you are beautiful my love’, a setting of words from the Song of Solomon. Despite the rather dreich weather, the event was a joyous occasion, much enjoyed by all – not least on account of the musical feast!

Forthcoming 2018-19 season

We have a busy and exciting season coming up, including weddings, concerts, carol singing, church and cathedral services, and giving the world premiere of some new responsorial psalms. See below for details:

Tuesday 4 September – weekly rehearsals resume

Thursday 5 September – midday wedding, Jordanhill Parish Church

Sunday 4 November – Premiere of Responsorial Psalms, Glasgow University Chapel

Monday 12 November – Festival of Remembrance, 7pm Cathcart Old Church

Wednesday 14 November – WW1 Commemoration concert, 7.30pm Cathcart Old

Sunday 25 November – St Andrew’s Day Multifaith service, 11 am Cathcart Old (optional)

Saturday/Sunday 1-2 December – Carol singing at Ikea, Braehead

Sunday 17 March – Choral Evensong, St Bride’s Church, Hyndland

Friday 5-Monday 8 April – residency at Newcastle cathedral (plus possible performance at children’s hospital)

Friday 31 May – West End Festival concert, St Bride’s church

Open Rehearsal, Tuesday 5 June 6.30pm

If you are a competent sight reader and would like to find out more about us, you are invited to come and sing with us through a couple of pieces specially written for the choir, as well as music by Hubert Parry and Tomas Luis de Victoria. If interested, please email conductor@strathclydechoir.org for details.